Giant Knitting – casting on and knitting

I know I said I would post this yesterday, but give me a break – I have a three year old. Anyway, we were talking about giant knitting. If you don’t have your needles yet, head over to my previous post where you can learn how to make them.

You will need something to knit with. I used 12lb of roving (you can order roving from any sheep farm) that was undyed. There are lots of different options so choose well.

I’m going to assume that if you are reading this, you already know how to cast on. Normally when knitting, I cast on using the finger and thumb of my left hand while holding the needle in my right. When casting on in giant knitting, I had to modify this to casting on with both hands while holding the needle between my knees. It was awkward, but it worked.

My original work was a throw-sized blanket. If you’d like to do something in this size, start by loosely casting on 30 stitches. Roving has very little give and is not very strong, so if you pull it too hard, it is going to rip.  So, cast on loosely enough that you can get both needles through.

If you’re a seasoned knitter, you know that the first row is probably going to be the hardest part of any item, and this is certainly no exception! The first thing to do is figure out where you will be sitting for this. I recommend a tall-ish stool, because the needles will be almost parallel when you are knitting the first row. I tried knitting this row while standing and it was a disaster. Once you’ve finished the first row or two, you can probably move to a more comfortable knitting position.

After that, it’s just knitting. Make sure you plan your pattern in advance (I made my own pattern – it was pretty simple) taking into consideration both what you want the finished product to look like and how much roving it’s going to take. It’s not such a good idea to do an entire blanket in ribbing, because you will have to use twice as much roving, and it’s not exactly cheap.

Keep in mind that your work will get very heavy. It’s beautiful, but a bit on the backbreaking side if you knit it for too long.

Giant Knitting

 

Complete your work, cast off as normal, and ta-da!

Jen McLeod

This entry was posted in Giant Knitting, Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Giant Knitting – casting on and knitting

  1. When you made your needles for this project, did you make them pointed? (and if so, how?) Or work with those blunt orange ends? I LOVE this idea… my sister has been after me to make big ol’ pillow seats like this. I think I’ll have to give in after seeing this.

    • Jen McLeod says:

      I used the blunt edges – I had heard of people fashioning points out of duct tape, but I think that a non-rigid point would just get in the way. Honestly, had no problems at all knitting with the blunt edges – because of the size of the roving, knitting required a lot of manual help anyway, so I don’t think points would have sped it up much. Just make sure you cast on REALLY loosely.

Leave a Reply

