I can’t crochet

I’ve always wanted to crochet, but I suck at it. The extent of my body of work in the crochet world is one hat and a bunch of misshapen granny squares that realistically will never amount to anything. It always makes me jealous when I see my friends pick up this skill effortlessly. I have tried. Books, online tutorials, YouTube videos. I suck.

So, when my daughter asked for a “knitted sheep” for Christmas, I cringed a bit, because I knew that the chances of me finding something that she liked – meaning fairly large – in a knitting pattern, then somehow finding the time and patience to do it were slim. Knitting complicated shapes is hard. I knew that crocheting them was somewhat easier, but I suck at crocheting.

So I located a nice crocheting pattern, and enlisted my friend Natasha to take the project on for me. Natasha is amazing. The first time I saw her crochet in person, at a book club meeting last summer, I was in awe. She just pumped out these things without even really looking at her hands. I was inspired. I went home and tried. I sucked.

So, a HUGE thanks to Natasha for Lilac the Sheep.

crochet sheep crochet sheepcrochet sheep

– Jen McLeod, Concrete Oyster

This entry was posted in crocheting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to I can’t crochet

  1. cmommy7 says:

    I’m glad she likes it!!!

  2. afamiliarillusion says:

    I have been looking for a pattern for a sheep and this one is EXACTLY what I have been looking for! Where did you get the pattern for it?

  3. So cute, and your daughter too!

  4. So CUTE! Great pics 🙂

  5. Bah! I love it! Where did you get the pattern??

  6. That is the cutest thing ever!!

  7. This is one of my favorite posts. So precious!
    Well, I just wanted you to know that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. And hopefully, when you see the Award, you won’t panic like I did. Feel free to accept or deny. Even though it was rather long, I think it was fun. Here it is: http://littlebrowntomato.com/2013/03/01/liebster-award/
    Hope you have a great weekend and thanks so much for visiting my blog when you have. 🙂

Leave a Reply

