Loads of tiny X’s

In my parents house, before they moved into their condo, two tiny cross stitched flowers hung on the wall above the desk. One was mine and the other my sisters. They were quite simple, and mine had a fairly major flaw. Oops. It was my first cross stitch project and I still remember my mom teaching me – I couldn’t have been more than 8. I was really into saving the earth, so next I did a fridge magnet that said “Let the ocean s live” and to the left of the “s” is a dolphin. I’m not sure if it’s meant to represent “let the ocean dolphins live” – whatever. I remember it as painstaking, despite the fact that, looking back, it was tiny.

I’ve moved up, a bit. I’ve taken up some cross stitching again after not having done it for several years. I’d been itching to do one for a while, but couldn’t find a premade pattern that wasn’t both hideous and way too simple, so I downloaded a free trial of some pattern software (I actually own this software, but it’s on my ancient computer) and created something pretty simple to start. There’s a photo of it from last week on this blog post. I’m glad to say it’s become recognizable.

Peacock cross stitch

 

I’m making a big effort not to make a total mess of my kitchen table, but it is nice to be able to sit in here and do this and be close to my daughter all day, instead of being in the office while she’s out in the livingroom by herself.

Peacock Cross Stitch

I actually considered having a “guess what it is and you win it” contest, but firstly, it’s way too easy to figure out, and secondly, my daughter asked if she could have it, and I can’t say no to her. Maybe on the next one!

Speaking of, what should I stitch  next?

Jen McLeod, Concrete Oyster

 

This entry was posted in Cross Stitching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Loads of tiny X’s

  1. Mom says:

    I still have those first projects by you and your sisters. I keep that sort of stuff close.

Leave a Reply

