Quiet

I have been on a bit of a sabbatical from…well, most of the things I like to do in my free time lately, opting instead to spend my time lazing around with my family. It’s a nice way to spend the time before the snow melts, I think. In honestly, I’ve been almost constantly on the go – I’m not sure when my social calendar became so full, but alas.

I made a few mala last month, but hadn’t gotten around to photographing and listing them on my Etsy shop yet, so I finally did it last night. They’d been stored away and I hadn’t seen them in some time, and forgot how much I loved them. The hand-knotted feeling isΒ so much better than the feeling of a cheaply made stretchy mala in your hands. There’s just something so much more solid and grounded about it.

I’ve got two photographed and ready to go. The first is 108 count 8mm white turquoise with red sandalwood markers and a natural jasper guru bead. It’s snake-knotted (two cords) in burgundy with a matching handmade burgundy tassel. It’s a tight knotting, at 34″ (approximate) and wears comfortably around the neck or wrist.

White turquoise buddhist mala White turquoise buddhist mala White turquoise buddhist malaI also knotted another mala that I’m quite proud of – this one is strung from 8mm blue jasper stones, with red jade markers with filigreed bead caps and a metal guru bead. The handmade tassel is black to match the knots. It can be found on my Etsy shop as well.

bluejasper1 bluejasper2 bluejasper3Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

Jen McLeod, Concrete Oyster

 

 

This entry was posted in Mala and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quiet

  1. They are simply beautiful

Leave a Reply

